Skip to content

The Practice of Gratitude

December 28, 2010

If it weren’t for my friend Lori, I would have never started this project. She was the one who messaged me and asked me if I’d like to join her in a year-long gratitude project. Lori’s a great friend and I loved the idea so I agreed without hesitation.

During the course of this year, I made 52 posts with my thoughts on gratitude-related subjects and 52 pieces of gratitude art. I’ve also written 3 things I’m grateful for every single day this past year. That’s 1,095 things. For the last six months or so, my six-year-old son has also been telling me three things he’s grateful for each day. And since November, he’s also been keeping a gratitude journal:

I cannot put into words the impact all this has had in my life.

The practice of gratitude is very powerful. Especially having to write down three things on those hard days when the world seems mostly black. During those times of illness and fear and tiredness. The practice of gratitude is what reminds you that there’s a flicker of light every single day. Every single moment of every day. It gives you the opportunity to pause and look and listen and pay attention to the good in your life.

Because there’s always some kind of good.

However small.

We take so much for granted. It’s human nature. And this project gives you the room and opportunity to take a moment to appreciate, to give thanks, to pay attention.

I’ve learned it’s important to pause and take a moment to be grateful each day.

I’ve learned that it makes my heart grow. It makes me realize how very much I have to be thankful for. How little it takes to make someone else’s day better. How many people impact my day. How much good there is out there.

It restores your faith in your life. In other people. And in the world.

All it takes is this one little project.

So I hope that, in 2011, you will take the time to write down things you’re grateful for. I will be continuing my 3 things in my blog along with my son’s list and his journal. I will never ever forget this year and how it started me on this very amazing path.

Thank you, Lori. More than words can say.

I am so very grateful.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 30, 2010 12:07 pm

    I thinks was an awesome idea. The project was a true success!

    For 2011, I’m to suggest to only the most very special people in my life, if they would take part in, but also including ONE more category; “what somebody who is most important to my life, did these 3 things for me today) It must never be shared, because that could influence future entries, but I believe doing thing with family, or whoever is incredible important to you, would help us and them understand how much we value the important people in our lives. That could certainly improve a few relationships I think. I plan to bring it up to Hubby tonight so we can make it a resolution for the New Year.

    Anyway, hope everyone has a great NY’s Eve as well as a wonderful New New Year..

  2. January 1, 2011 3:37 pm

    I found your blog today after starting out on my own year of 3 things a day… :-) I came to realise recently just how unhappy and unaccepting I am and I hear that practicing gratitude can do great things in that area.

    I’ll enjoy going back through your year as I go forward with mine.

    Have a great 2011

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

