Skip to content

Vegan Cuisine

January 4, 2010

Welcome to the fist week of Weekly Gratitude. On Mondays, I will be sharing how I’ve documented my gratitude for the week.

I’m a stay-at-home Mom and am grateful for that opportunity. I take my job of raising my children seriously. In many ways, staying home is much harder for me, than when I worked my corporate job full time. They both have their difficulties and rewards.

When I discovered that my youngest is allergic to milk, eggs and peanuts, this past Spring, it threw my life and my most important work, into a new chaos. While I was grateful to finally understand why he was so miserable, I was horrified by the prospect of feeding him. Reading labels for “made on equipment with” or “made in a factory that also produces”, learning the many names for “eggs” and “milk” (yes, they really do have a lot of names that are not obvious), and trying to find children’s calcium supplements that didn’t contain milk, nearly had me at my lowest.

It wasn’t until we attended a Birthday party that I hit my lowest. I hadn’t thought about the fact that he wouldn’t be able to enjoy the cake or most of the food being served (pizza). It’s definitely been an uphill climb, but it’s one that has facilitated a significant change in my families’ eating habits. We are healthier now. I do not make multiple meals; one for him and one for us. I make us all the same food. As such, it was important to me to find foods that are satisfying, flavorful and safe.

My page this week is about how grateful (I mean, deep, deep, gratitude) I am for Vegan cuisine. My local grocery store has three large isles dedicated to healthier foods; organic, allergen sensitive or substitute foods. But, were it not for the Vegan movement and the internet, I would never have learned how to bake and cook those foods for my son. Below is my page and on the back is my journaling.

Journaling says:

The most important job I have is feeding my boys. That job became (I see the handwritten typo there :) extremely difficult this past Spring when I discovered that my youngest, Brody, is allergic to milk, eggs and peanuts. Learning to create healthy and satisfying meals that exclude those ingredients has been a struggle. I am deeply grateful to the amazing Vegan chefs out there who share their recipes and love for food on websites and in cookbooks. I no longer have to worry about cupcakes, cookies, breakfast and other foods because they have made it so easy to make. Brody never feels left out and the food is so good he is happy. The biggest bonus is knowing that my family is eating healthier. I would be lost without Vegan cuisine.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2010 9:28 am

    It is beautiful.
    The colour scheme and flowers all work even though it is a “boys’ page.
    Very inspiring.

    • lorigentile permalink*
      January 4, 2010 9:50 am

      Thank you, Stefanie. :) I have two boys and I do my best to use flowers and girly stuff all the time. It’s for me, too, right?

  2. January 4, 2010 11:14 am

    I love it Lori, it’s beautiful.

  3. January 4, 2010 11:17 am

    Beautiful!

  4. Susan S. permalink
    January 4, 2010 2:13 pm

    I am grateful for your posting and for motivating me to get going on my own gratitude posting!

  5. January 4, 2010 9:18 pm

    What a beautiful journal page, Lori! I have many food allergies myself so I understand how difficult it is to find appropriate recipes. I’m so glad you were able to find what works.

    Many blessings to you and yours!

  6. January 5, 2010 2:00 am

    I love love love the hand stitching… beautiful entry Lori!

    • lorigentile permalink*
      January 5, 2010 3:54 pm

      Anne, thank you, but I have to say I cheated with the stitching. The paper comes stitched. It’s by Prima Marketing. All I did was add the title, flowers, flower centers, photo and drew some lines with pen. Easy Peasy.

  7. January 5, 2010 7:26 am

    I’d just decided to be more positive this year. And to see the glass half full or full, instead of perpetually empty or emptying. Then I came across this site. It’s fate, clearly. I’ll be joining you this year. Here’s hoping it makes a large difference to each of us.

  8. Debi permalink
    January 5, 2010 9:13 am

    Your page is absolutely stunning Lori! I’m so relieved that you found out what was making poor Brody so miserable. You are such an amazing mom and your kids are soooo lucky to have you as their mommy! Can’t wait to see your next entry!

    debi

  9. Gab permalink
    January 5, 2010 3:30 pm

    Just gorgeous Lori! I love your handwriting. Really sweet pic too

  10. Tali Etra permalink
    January 6, 2010 8:07 am

    This made me cry Lori – My baby who is 9m was recently diagnosed with the 8 top food allergies. It has been beyond a struggle with way to many people now questioning me about what I am feeding him and am I feeding him enough. I also dread his first birthday. I hate bad tasting cake/food and am so freaked about what I am going to serve.

    • lorigentile permalink*
      January 6, 2010 8:20 am

      Tali,
      I just sent you an email. :)

Leave a Reply

