Skip to content

Thoughts from Lori

January 7, 2010

Like Karen, I have no formal format for these Thursday thoughts of mine. It will just be my way of wrapping up my week before focusing on the next one. Today, I would like to share a quote, some prompts, a download, and my finished album.

“To speak gratitude is courteous and pleasant, to enact gratitude is generous and noble, but to live gratitude is to touch Heaven.” by Johannes A. Gaertner

This quote makes my heart sing every time I read it. I realize that in order for my children to grow up living gratitude, I need to do so. Parenting 101 – they will do what I do, not what I say. This project I am embarking on, is my first step in that direction. It’s hard, hard daily work that is incredibly worthwhile. I just need to take it one step at a time, one decision at a time.

This month’s theme of work took me back a bit. It’s a hard theme, I think. I instantly went to what I do, which is stay at home and raise two boys. But, once I dug deeper, I realized it’s bigger than that. I brainstormed some prompts to get myself started and to draw upon later in the month, if needed. Here are a few of my prompts and how they make sense around “work” to me:

1. Not Accumulating – in other words being grateful for what I have and not wanting to work for more.

2. Sweat Equity – there really is something to be said (a lot) about doing a thing yourself.

3. Validation – I used to get raises and great reviews, now I get “Mom, I love you”. Way better. Really.

4. No Quitting – the value of keeping commitments

5. Rituals – gratitude talk at dinner time or bed time (the important job of raising my kiddos to have/think gratitude)

6. Money – the power of saving and understanding money

Kim Hurst was the one who brought The Gratitude Project to my attention. She posted a link to Brenda’s blog and, well, you know the rest. Kim has a knack for finding the cool stuff out there in internet land. She’s a great resource and a wonderful person.

She shared her format on Willow Traders and I asked her if she would be willing to share her files with all of us. She was excited to share. She purchased a two up album from Borders. It’s got a chipboard cover, so it can be altered, and two-up pages on the inside. She then created her own templates to embellish, or not, and include in the pages.

Here is where she has embellished one of the journaling cards.

There are three journaling card templates. The downloadable link is to a zip file that contains three .png files and three .psd files. If you have a word processing program, like MS Word, you can insert the .png files just like you would an image. The .psd files are for photoshop users.

Click on this link to download the files.

Thank you so much for your generosity Kim!

To finish, I’d like to share my finished album with you. Below is the embellished cover and spine of the album.

Inside the album, I created 12 dividers, one for each month. The divider is simple and shares the month and the theme.

On the back side of each divider will be a pocket where I will stick my hand written prompts. These prompts are my way of brainstorming for the month in case I get stuck one week and need some help.

I hope you’ve found some inspiration. I’m looking forward to seeing what you do.

Lori

24 Comments leave one →
  1. January 7, 2010 8:44 am

    Oh, Lori, your ablum is gorgeous! And a huge thank you to wonderful Kim for sharing her files with us! I really appreciate all the inspiration you and Karen are giving us for this meaningful project!

  2. January 7, 2010 8:45 am

    Your album is so beautiful! Nice work!

  3. January 7, 2010 9:10 am

    ok, you just solved my problem of how to document with those downloads. Thanks so much!

  4. dawn permalink
    January 7, 2010 9:17 am

    Beautiful album!!!! Thank you for the downloads.

  5. Elizabeth permalink
    January 7, 2010 9:50 am

    What a beautiful album! I haven’t even started mine yet. Guess after the holidays I am still winding down and procrastinating a bit. Thanks to you and Kim Hurst for the download.

  6. dottydotty permalink
    January 7, 2010 11:46 am

    Have only just found your blog and have decided to play along just have to think about how best to join in your album is just gorgeous:)

  7. January 7, 2010 11:55 am

    Beautiful work! Thanks for the downloads!

  8. January 7, 2010 12:19 pm

    LOVE, love, love it!! Thanks for the inspiration and DLs!!

  9. January 7, 2010 1:44 pm

    wow Lori, your cover looks amazing! I love the girly colors, the stitching and all the little details. Thank you for your thoughts and thanks Kim for the journaling cards!

  10. January 7, 2010 2:58 pm

    Beautiful album, worth all your hard work! Thanks to Kim for the wonderful journaling prompts which I know I will use.

  11. January 7, 2010 4:05 pm

    I started following the blog a couple of weeks ago, as well as you wonderful ladies’ blogs!! I am a wee bit overwhelmed, but in a good way, you all are helping me start this journey nicely, thank you! So, I wrote up my weekly gratitude post, but I’m not sure if there’s a mr linky to sign or what I do now. Told you I was overwhelmed, lol. But I’ll catch on soon – promise! :0)

    Sorry I stayed silent for so long. :0)

  12. Quilt Girl permalink
    January 7, 2010 5:51 pm

    Your album is beautiful. This is such an uplifting idea, is it too late to join in?

    • January 7, 2010 7:26 pm

      absolutely not! it’s never too late to join in :) please join us!

      • Quilt Girl permalink
        January 10, 2010 8:16 am

        So, do I need to sign up with anyone or send a link, or just do it?

  13. January 7, 2010 7:27 pm

    isn’t lori amazing? I totally think so too!! :) I love your art Lori! :)

  14. January 7, 2010 9:50 pm

    got my first entry done today! So liking this idea! Big thanks to Kim for the format idea. I am loving this Borders binder!

  15. January 7, 2010 9:50 pm

    oops… forgot my link… 1st entry is here http://finallymedee.blogspot.com/2010/01/thankful-thursday.html

  16. dottydotty permalink
    January 8, 2010 1:09 am

    here is the link for my first week thanks for the inspiration
    http://dottydotty.wordpress.com/2010/01/08/weekly-gratitude/

  17. January 8, 2010 4:44 am

    I’m dropping by from a link at Lisa’s Chaos … intrigued by the Weekly Gratitude button … wondering who else out there addresses the subject regularly. I enjoyed your list and seeing your beautiful pink journal. In addition to writing daily by hand in journals (for decades now), I’ve kept a Daily Gratitude list in my sidebar at Small Reflections for more than a year (sparked by a challenge from another blogger in November of 2008) and transfer those lists to Happily Retired Gal at the end of each month. If you have time, you can find them easily by searching in my sidebar for Giving Thanks Challenge or clicking the link (if I entered it correctly). I may take up your challenge on my Sacred Ruminations blog … just because.
    Hugs and blessings,

  18. Charlene English permalink
    January 8, 2010 6:37 am

    I love your fabulous pink album with the embellies. What an uplifting place to document and collect your blessings.

  19. Gab permalink
    January 13, 2010 7:07 pm

    Well, first of all I love that quote. I think I’ll sprinkle some quotes through my album.
    Secondly, just love Kim’s album – and thanks so much Kim for sharing your cards!
    And finally your album is too gorgeous. Makes me want to reach into the computer and touch it!

Trackbacks

  1. Nothing to do « Weekly Gratitude
  2. A Favorable Year: Part 2

Leave a Reply

