Skip to content

Homework

January 11, 2010

I mentioned that I plan to use many formats and this week, I am using Karen’s template. I resized it to 5″ x 7″, so I can print it out for my album.

A quick note about dates; I’m not using any. I’m  not concerned with ending up with exactly 52 entries (maybe I’ll have more) or that the correct amount be filed under each month. As the project goes along, I may find one theme more inspiring than another, so I want to leave myself open to putting them under the correct theme without being concerned with quantity or dates.

My page this week is about homework. Kindergarten brought homework into our home and both my son and I had to adjust. It was something new and different and not fun. However, just a few short months into it, we are both enjoying our time together. He loves showing me that he can do his work and I love that he feels comfortable enough to still ask me for help when he gets stuck. We read books, practice sight words, writing and math, and it’s been a huge blessing for us. This one truly surprised me. It was something I was dreading. I’m glad to have found the joy in daily homework.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Debi permalink
    January 11, 2010 8:36 am

    I’m really loving how Karen’s templates look. Love what you wrote Lori, and cute pic of Dylan! Can you bring your book again tonight so I can drool? I’m having a hard time getting started on mine.

  2. January 11, 2010 3:36 pm

    Hi Lori,

    I fought the homework overload batter for 7 years with Evan and finally got off my cry baby bottom and decided to unschool my kids – we left public school in October on my 45th birthday and I don’t see us going back. We are free and the monkey is off our back. We can play scrabble all day or hike the redwoods or go to the beach or build a skateboard ramp like we did on Friday. FREE FREE FREE – free to craft all day if we want – learning happens in all things – cooking, sewing, playing building – everything!

    Just a little food for thought. How many hours per day should a child have to be a student, anyway. 6…7…8, maybe 9? We certainly had some 9 hour days with book reports or projects. Peace out to that!

    xox Laura

  3. Laura McCann permalink
    January 12, 2010 6:07 pm

    looking good Lori!! Great picture of Dylan! So cute!

  4. Gab permalink
    January 13, 2010 11:00 pm

    Very sweet pic! I wish I could say homework was a blessing in our house!

Leave a Reply

