Skip to content

The Daily Practice

January 12, 2010

The first official week of the year has been a tough one for me. I am someone who thrives on routine and the holiday season is far from a regular weekly schedule, so I was looking forward to the first week of the year. Looking forward to everything going back to the way it was.

Well, it didn’t exactly work that way. My little boy decided to sleep less and cry more. My older one complained that he needed to be entertained and I just couldn’t get back into the groove of work. At the end of every day, I felt worn out, depressed and like I got nothing done. I was so busy and so disorganized that I didn’t even get a chance to look at the todo lists I’d made, let alone make a clean one.

I had decided at the beginning of this project that while I did the art once a week, I was going to write three things I was thankful for every day, at the end of the day. I post on my blog daily so I just added this section to my posts. And I’ve now been doing it for 11 days. Even during the roughest of days, I had to take a moment and think of three good things that happened that day. And, to be honest, I was able to without a problem.

Just goes to show you that even when the times seem really tough, good things happen throughout the day. If you take time to pay attention, you will notice them. This practice reminds me every day that wonderful things are happening in my life right now. All the time. And when I am so tired that I can barely get up, it’s good to remember that.

So here’s a challenge for you if you’re up for it: for the next week, write down 3 things you’re thankful for every day. Every night before you go to sleep. Jot it on a piece of paper. Anywhere that works for you. Don’t leave it to the morning because I promise you’ll forget. Just give it a whirl for a week and see how it makes you feel.

I hope it will be as rewarding for you as it has been for me.

Ps: If you’re playing along with Weekly Gratitude on your own blog, please go ahead and leave a comment with the address of your blog and we’ll link to you on our sidebar. Thank you!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. Debi permalink
    January 12, 2010 8:10 am

    Thanks for the reminder Karen. I started journaling every day, but then the days started slipping away and I haven’t gotten back on track till today. I love how Lori’s not adding a date cuz that way I won’t feel like I need to catch up. I think I’ve been waiting to do my binder, and I haven’t even started on it yet, but I don’t wanna wait till that’s ready to start my journaling. I was thinking of buying a special journal to write daily gratitude in, but that would be silly cuz that’s why I’m making a special journal. Guess I just need to figure out what to do and do it LOL. I’m a morning person, so I shall write in the morning when my brain is most awake. I also like starting my day off with gratitude in my heart. I’ve been doing that every morning when I wake up… just haven’t been writing it down. So…. Time to start writing it down. ‘k… I’m mumbling now LOL.

  2. January 12, 2010 9:30 am

    Having two small boys at home is challenging to say the least. This time, too, shall pass. Nathaniel will get more independent like David is now. Hold him, smell his head, relish each moment because things change so quickly. Easy to say for me with only one at home who is my zen master teacher! My first card is up, I’ve changed my format from playing cards (too small) to flash cards at 3.25 x 5.25 inches. A better size for all I have to say! I also added it to the flickr group.

  3. January 12, 2010 10:47 am

    I was a very challenged homemaker for a lot of years. My “Weekly Gratitude” post (yesterday) is about the woman that helped me make order out of chaos!
    http://cameoroze.blogspot.com/2010/01/macro-monday-flylady.html

  4. Susan S. permalink
    January 12, 2010 11:57 am

    OK, now I’ve received the kick in the bottom that I needed, thank you. Today I plan on starting my on line blog, and making a fabric/paper journal that I can do my artwork and journaling in. I to have struggled during the first week and couldn’t prioritize my “to do list”. I feel energized today and accept your challenge. Let’s all enjoy this week.

  5. Debi permalink
    January 12, 2010 12:09 pm

    ahhhh…. I love the *smell his head*! There’s something so sweet about the smell of a baby’s head LOL. Something right there, to be grateful for!

  6. January 12, 2010 1:18 pm

    And for those with an iTouch, I hear there is a Gratitude App that reminds you to post 2 things you are grateful for each day (I don’t have one, but my sis does). I haven’t started yet but hope to take you up on this challenge and get going soon! Thanks for the inspiration!

  7. January 12, 2010 3:31 pm

    Thanks, Karen, as always. I was journaling every day before December, got sidetracked with the holidays, and haven’t restarted the process. This may be the stimulus I need. I am planning a weekly gratitude blog post at:

    kbwalker.blogs.com

  8. January 12, 2010 3:47 pm

    I am following along. I amde my journal card for the first week and definitely like this three a day challenge.
    http://www.jenniferfindlay.blogspot.com

  9. Quilt Girl permalink
    January 12, 2010 7:17 pm

    This is a good challenge to take on. My day job gets the better of me most days and writing down three positive things will help me de-stress and end the day on a positive note. Thank you for this suggestion. I guess this project is one thing I’m grateful for!

    http://quiltingties.wordpress.com/ (my first post is linked in the 2nd column near the bottom)

  10. elinjanne permalink
    January 12, 2010 8:33 pm

    I`m challenged. Excpressing gratitude everyday. But, I love to be challenged so I`m playing. Still undecieded on how I will make my album so I keep my options open.

    http://elinjanne.wordpress.com/

  11. Gab permalink
    January 13, 2010 11:01 pm

    That reminder is coming at a great time for me!

  12. January 14, 2010 6:36 am

    This is a wonderful reminder ! For the past six months or so, my husband and I have been ending our days with sharing a few things we are grateful for as we snuggle in to bed at night. At first he was a little reluctant to participate, but I think the pleasure at this kind of intimate time and the “prayerfulness” of it won him over. Some nights, he even reminds me about the practice if I forget !

    I did my weekly gratitude post on my blog this morning . This Thankfulness Thursday is about compassion. Here’s the link :
    http://queen-of-arts.blogspot.com/2010/01/thankfulness-thursday-compassion.html

    Thanks again for gathering us all together in gratitude !
    Cheers !

  13. dottydotty permalink
    January 15, 2010 12:44 am

    mine is done for this week it’s about my boots! Your son will soon be bigger than you and very difficult to get out of bed like my lovley teenage son who didn’t sleep through the night untill he was five, I don’t know how I survived but and did it really does get easier:)

  14. dottydotty permalink
    January 15, 2010 12:45 am

    please ignore the utube vidoe i copied and pasted before looking but peraps it will make you laugh!

  15. January 24, 2010 8:49 pm

    I am playing along and loving it! My blog is http://finallymedee.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

