Skip to content

My Week of Nothing and a Challenge

January 21, 2010

This was my week to do nothing and to be grateful for it. It’s been a nice break from the craziness of the last few weeks and much needed.

Mostly, I got to spend the quality time with my kids that I missed and craved. I’m looking forward to spending all afternoon, tomorrow, going through our tons of Lego bins just to find “guy” parts for my little one. I usually dread this task because I know that as soon as I find them and set them aside, they will be lost, again, within a day or two. This week, however, I’ve realized it’s the act of “sitting with and doing with” that’s important. It’s not the end result that matters, but the time spent doing it that does.

Somehow, I never noticed that before. I never noticed that his smile while he has my dedicated time for hours or his sweet non-stop chatter about what his “guys” are doing and where they will be going, was bigger than it appeared. I just went through the motions because I felt I had to do it. This time I was dreading is special time for him. I imagine it would be the same for me, if my husband were to spend a few hours scrapbooking with me. I would be thrilled he was spending quality time engaged with me and my hobby. Legos is definitely my little one’s favorite hobby in the world and me spending time in that world with him, while not my favorite choice (are you sure you don’t want me to read to you?), is special to him. I’m glad for the lesson this week.

So, I have a challenge for you instead of a prompt, though you can use it that way, too.

I want you to think of something you normally dread and then find the good in it. I don’t mean something you could easily give up if you could afford to hire someone to do it, like laundry or housecleaning, etc. I mean something that involves others. For me, spending hours going through those bins of Legos for my three-year-old was as bad as having to go grocery shopping (this is my least favorite thing to do, so it’s actually saying a lot). I mean something you do for others that feels like work or a chore, instead of a desired choice. Take some time to think on it and see what happens.

I hope each of you enjoy the rest of your week.

Lori

One Comment leave one →
  1. Gab permalink
    February 7, 2010 1:17 pm

    Thanks for this reminder to try and see something to be grateful for in an ordinary “chore”

Leave a Reply

