Skip to content

Workbooks

January 29, 2010

The journaling reads:
Last year, one of the teachers in David’s preschool told me that I should get some workbooks for David. “He’s showing an interest in the ones we have at school and I think he might like to have some at home,” she said.

So I got a bunch of workbooks for us to do together. David devoured them. And then my sister brought some from Turkey when she came to visit. David devoured those, too. He colored them, he put stickers in the right places, he connected the lines. He just loved working his way through the different exercises.

This year, I got him a whole set of new workbooks. Ones on math and letters and thinking skills and we regularly sit together and work on them. He’s not even five and he can already read and write all of his upper and lowercase letters. He can count to who knows what number and he can do basic addition and subtraction. All because he wants to.

And because these magical workbooks make it so much fun.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 29, 2010 9:26 am

    hi karen.

    i always am in awe of your still photography. i love your photos. and little david is becoming a very smart young man! i hope i can do the same with our little girl when she arrives. joe is determined to create a baby genius, lol.

    thanks so much to you and lori for this amazing project. i’ve decided to join in and just posted all of january (minus the 9th which i seem to have forgotten) to catch up on my blog. i love your templates and will be using them A LOT for this!

    http://meredithannetaylor.blogspot.com/2010/01/weekly-gratitude-january.html

    thanks so much to both of you again! can’t wait to see what our year has in store!

    love.
    mere

  2. January 29, 2010 9:41 am

    Love your photos. Would you mind sharing your editing secrets?

  3. January 30, 2010 5:17 am

    I noticed you used Kumon workbooks. My kids did not enjoy Kumon for math, but we are having great success with Singapore Math. I blog on math workbooks at http://pragmaticmom.com. See entry: Math Workbooks. Singapore Math is great for visual learners. My 5 year old can tell time, add and subtract from going through the 4 k and pre-k books AND he LOVES them. My 2nd and 4th find that it complements their math curriculum at school (chicago math/everyday math) which needs enrichment. We also do A Word Problem A Day but I start that the summer before 1st grade. Hope this helpful.

    Pragmatic Mom
    ps a great phonics workbooks series is Explode the Code. See entry: phonics workbooks.

  4. January 31, 2010 2:50 am

    Just wanted to say a quick thanks for all of your help this week, Karen. I’ve managed to even post all of my weekly gratitude on my blog: http://thelinarstudio.typepad.com/embracelife/2010/01/weekly-gratitude-yes-ive-begun-finally.html and I couldn’t have done it without you!

    I’m really enjoying this, and plan to keep it up now that I have a formula. I’m enjoying your posts and the way they encourage me to keep up and be mindful of my own gratitude.

  5. February 1, 2010 3:35 am

    Two more January weeks caught up, work theme: http://www.scraparty.com/index.php/2010/02/weekly-gratitude-03-e-04/

    I’m in love with this project! It’s wonderful to think about what good things soround us once a week.

  6. Gab permalink
    February 7, 2010 1:26 pm

    I agree with everyone on your photos – they are so great! And you must be so proud of your little man and his thirst for learning!

Leave a Reply

