Skip to content

Practicing Gratitude Daily

February 11, 2010

Karen’s been spending the last few weeks posting really fabulous thoughts on getting started and staying motivated. I’ve been reflecting on those things that have been motivating me and those that have not. What I have found is that when I’m thinking about what my gratitude will be each day and jotting it down, the gratitude sits firmly in my mind. It feels less phony and it’s less of a struggle. There were two weeks where I did not spend time each day thinking about the things for which I’m grateful and when I had to do my gratitude entry for that week, it just wasn’t the same. It somehow felt less authentic. So, for me, I really need to spend time each day thinking about gratitude in order for the process to feel good.

I went searching through my bookcase because I remembered that my friend had given me a book back in the late 1990’s. I never did it and after spending these last 6 weeks on this project, I realized I’m finally ready to do this book. It’s broken down by day and is one year long. It is called Simple Abundance; A DayBook of Comfort and Joy and is written by Sarah Ban Breathnach.

This book has been around for a very long time and was hugely popular when it debuted. It’s full of simple lessons and thought provoking quotes and I am really excited to sit down each night with this book. I’m starting on the current day and will go back and read what I’ve missed, but I’m excited to have this aid. I plan to write down three things I felt grateful for at the end of the day. As I said, for me, gratitude has to be practiced daily or it doesn’t sink in and feel authentic.

Jen Martakis is a wonderful friend and an amazing digital designer for Two Peas in a Bucket. I asked her if she would consider making a template for us and she gave me an enthusiastic “yes”! Jen has a fantastic digital store worth taking the time to visit. She made this template for us and it is a free for you to download.  Simply click “download kit” to get this template.

This can be used in two ways. If you use photoshop you can download it and use it as a template. If you do not use photoshop, you can use this as a sketch. I asked Jen to make a multi-photo template because, so far, we’ve only been sharing templates with one photo and I think having a variety appeals to more.

If you decide to use this template or sketch please comment with a link on this post.

Jen, thank you so much for your generosity. Your template is wonderful and appreciated!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 11, 2010 10:07 am

    I got this book last fall – started it, didn’t get too far. I picked it back up at the beginning of this year, and now actually look forward to my time with it each day. GREAT book!

  2. Laura McCann permalink
    February 14, 2010 1:43 pm

    Great post, Lori!! Motivated me to do my February update! :)

Trackbacks

  1. Chick Flicks « Weekly Gratitude

Leave a Reply

