Skip to content

Coffee and Graham Crackers

February 19, 2010

The journaling reads:
It might seem odd to file coffee as something that’s good for my soul but, for me, it really is. With two kids and a job, my mornings are really hectic. The kids get up early and I am often drowsy and in pain from too little sleep. Then there’s the making breakfast for everyone, changing, nursing, and feeding the baby and getting everyone dressed. Next thing I know, we’re driving to David’s school.

After I drop David off, we come back home and I put Nathaniel down for his nap. While he’s napping, I prepare my coffee and grab some graham crackers (and maybe a chocolate if we have any left.) Then I get to sit down and enjoy the first quiet moment I got that day. For the next forty-five minutes or so, I cherish the solitude and “me” time.

These forty-five minutes have become my favorite part of my day. I love my kids and my husband and my job and my crazy life but there’s something magical in pausing for a short while every day and just taking some time for myself.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Lisa permalink
    February 19, 2010 10:03 pm

    Just wondering what are Graham Crackers like? Are they savoury or sweet? Is there any Aussies out there that know them and can liken them to something I can identify? They look like a small Cruskit to me but I may be way off track with that.

    I agree Karen, coffee and me time is fabulous – great post.
    Thanks Lisa.

    • February 19, 2010 10:09 pm

      they are sweet. sort of like “petit beurre” biscuits. do you have those? I actually prefer savory usually but these are just perfect with the coffee. Salty goes well with tea :)

      • Lisa permalink
        February 20, 2010 4:36 pm

        Thanks for the reply Karen but I didn’t know petit beurre either. So I Googled “graham crackers are like” and found what Australians would know.
        Just incase any Aussies out there want to know – they are like Milk Coffee or Arrowroot biscuits. These I know and I have to tell you I’ve loved Arrowroot biscuits since I was a kid.
        Man I LOVE Google.

  2. Gab permalink
    April 3, 2010 6:25 pm

    Great journaling and pic Karen. And Lisa, thanks for that research – I’ve always wondered what graham crackers are too. Are they the same biscuits/cookies/crackers used to make s’mores?

Leave a Reply

