Skip to content

Highlight

February 24, 2010

Today I wanted to highlight a piece of art by Kim Mahliot (also known as Queen of Arts. When I saw Kim’s art, it spoke to me immediately. Only after I read her words did I realize that it was about a loss which made me feel even more connected to it. Here’s Kim’s beautiful art:

This piece is about a very sad dream she had related to her Dad’s death. And here are some of her words:

“Because today, and every day, I am so grateful for our incredible ability to heal ourselves.

“This morning, as I described the dream to my mom, I realized that we are coming into the exact time of year when my Dad was dying. He died on March 3rd. The month of February was full of trauma and fear and uncertainty that year as we went through the process with him. It is strange how some years the pain is worse than others – some years it has been close to pain-free. But this year, I obviously needed to heal some more of that big hurt and my whole being – even my unconscious mind, was going to make sure I did it !

“This morning, I had a good, deep, cry for the loss of my Dad. I asked those unanswerable “why ?” questions. I was sad. I mourned a little bit more. I did a page in my journal in honor of the day’s feelings. I lit a candle to send a message of love to his spirit. I know I am going to continue this process throughout the day and for as long as I need to.

Today, I used my heart, my mind, my body and my being’s incredible powers for healing, and I healed one more little piece of that big, big, hurt. And for that, I am very thankful.”

Please go read all of her words. They are moving, deep and full of insight, just like her art.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 24, 2010 8:20 am

    Oh, this touches my heart today. I’m inspired as always from your posts to continue walking in gratitude. Thank you for that blessing. =)

  2. Gab permalink
    April 5, 2010 2:23 am

    Wow, what a beautiful page

Leave a Reply

