Skip to content

Simple Man

February 25, 2010

I recently heard a remake of the Lynyrd Skynyrd song “Simple Man”. I had forgotten about this song and how much I have always loved the lyrics, until I heard the Shinedown remake and that was a big thrill. This song is so appropriate for our month of gratitude and “soul” and I want to share it with you.

The journey to peace, happiness, fulfillment, or what have you, is absolutely being happy with what you have and not wanting more. I have always struggled with wanting more and it’s never made me feel good. EVER. I love the message in this song because it reinforces the idea that the path to a loving, peaceful life is through being simple. One of my favorite quotes is by Sheryl Crow “It’s not having what you want, it’s wanting what you’ve got”. I really believe this is the secret to living a happy life.

I hope you’ll take a moment to listen to this song. You can hear the passion and emotion in every word sung.  To find the video (sorry I have no clue how to embed into this post) go to here.

Simple Man by Shine Down

Songwriters: Van Zant, Ron;Rossington, Gary

Mama told me when I was young
Come sit beside me, my only son
And listen closely to what I say.
And if you do this
It will help you some sunny day.
Take your time… don’t live too fast,
Troubles will come and they will pass.
Go find a woman and you’ll find love,
And don’t forget son,
There is someone up above.

(chorus)
And be a simple kind of man.
Be something you love and understand.
Be a simple kind of man.
Won’t you do this for me son,
If you can?

Forget your lust for the rich man’s gold
All that you need is in your soul,
And you can do this if you try.
All that I want for you my son,
Is to be satisfied.

(chorus)

Boy, don’t you worry… you’ll find yourself.
Follow you heart and nothing else.
And you can do this if you try.
All I want for you my son,
Is to be satisfied.

(chorus)

I hope you have enjoyed spending time this month focusing on soul. I hope you will continue to share your journey with us and we continue to share ours with you.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 25, 2010 11:55 am

    Perfect!

  2. February 25, 2010 10:05 pm

    What an inspiration. Thank you. I needed to “hear” this today.

Leave a Reply

