Skip to content

Green Alligators & Oranges

March 4, 2010

I’m a wannabe decorator. I have so many ideas I want to incorporate into my home. I love all things vintage and junky and whimsical. I could spend hours in a garage painting and fixing stuff. I think it’s the creative side of me that seeks to infuse my home with those little touches that scream “LORI LIVES HERE!”.

The reality, however, is that I have two little boys who are crazy and cool and not “my style” friendly.  I’ve made excuse after excuse as to why my home lacks personality. I’m not sure why this has been ok with me, but it has for awhile now. I’m ready to break free of it and just decorate to my tastes. If the kids ruin something, they ruin it and it’s all good. Heck, most of what they could do could be undone, right?

I just know that I love it when I walk into a friend’s home and I am enveloped in their personality. I immediately feel comfortable. Their style vs. my style is unimportant. It’s the feeling the house gives that is important. My favorite homes make me want to kick my shoes off and sit with a cup of coffee and chat for hours because they feel as comfortable as my friends.

I want to create a home out of my house. I want my children to fondly remember where they grew up because it affects all of their senses. Those senses are what bring wonderful recalled memories to life when they leave home. Something will taste like home, smell like home, look like home and bring that sense of nostalgia to them. Most of all, I want our home to represent all of us. This is what I’m now striving to do.

The other day I started sprucing up my kitchen with little touches. I pulled out some fun bowls and accents that have been hiding and placed them out for us to enjoy. After I went grocery shopping, I put the little cuties oranges in a favorite red bowl instead of just leaving them on the counter in their ugly blue mesh bag, like I usually do. I love the orange and red colors on my kitchen counter. It feels a little winterish and a little springish all at once and that makes me happy.

When I was making dinner a few hours later, I noticed my youngest decided to add his own touch to our little bowl of oranges. I laughed out loud. I love his personality and this embodies all I want for our home.

So, this week I am grateful for green alligators and oranges. I’m grateful for the little touches that say this is our home. I’m grateful for the reminder that not doing something because of a desire for it to be perfect is far worse than doing something because it’s loved.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2010 1:58 pm

    My favorite color combo!!!

  2. Debi permalink
    March 5, 2010 8:11 am

    Oh Lori! LOVE your post! (and love the green alligator!) My daughter Kim said it best, when I was complaining about our house. She said, “Mom… Stop complaining. I love our house. It’s where I grew up and it has personality!) I said, huh? Funny how I didn’t see our house AT ALL having personality until she said it.

    So, I agree…. It’s all about capturing the warm fuzzies. Who cares if it needs work. I have a green thumb when it comes to decorating, and have always just surrounded me with things that have called to me. A mish mash of totally unmatched *things* that certainly would make any designer cringe. I have my grandaughters artwork proudly displayed on my livingroom wall. I LOVE it. It makes me smile everytime I see it.

    Your boys will be off to college in a blink of an eye, and they’re not going to remember how you’ve decorated your home. They WILL remember the *feeling* of your home. (and you have a beaUtiful home!)

    Your post has certainly given me that Spring Cleaning feeling though, and now I wanna go clean out my closets.

    debi

  3. Dawn permalink
    March 5, 2010 9:40 am

    Priceless!!! I love it.

Leave a Reply

