Skip to content

A View to Remember

March 11, 2010

Where I live is close to the ocean. It means that my Summer days usually start out foggy, then burn off for hot ones. It means that my Fall days are usually gorgeous and sunny all day long. It’s easy to take for granted the landscape by which I live. Day in and day out, I just do what needs to be done without a second thought about what is really around me in nature.

There are occasions when I need to drive a bit further than my normal routine takes me. When those occur, I have to drive down one freeway to find another. When I drive down this first freeway, if I look up I can see the ocean over the trees filling out the horizon. Every time I get to see this, it takes my breath away. I wish I could stop the car and get a photo of this stunning view. I wonder how many other drivers look up and notice the awe inspiring landscape. Do they see it? Does it make them feel the same way it makes me feel? Do they just drive it every day and never take the time to see it?

I have not spent a large part of my life living here. It’s been less than 1o years, in fact. I realized the other day as I drove to run an errand, that the feeling that view inspires is a sense of home. This is my home. This is where I belong. This is where I have purpose. This recognition is a profound shift from how I believed I felt. I always thought that even though we love where we live, we left home behind. When I drove down that freeway, a few days back, it struck for the first time in nearly 10 years, that I no long feel that way.

This week I am grateful for knowing where I belong. I am grateful for understanding that the little part of me I left over there has finally found a home. I feel peace.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Debi permalink
    March 11, 2010 4:26 pm

    Love your post Lori! And just so you know… You’re not alone in noticing and admiring that incredible view! I too, always am wishing I had my camera when i see that beautiful ocean in front of me. I don’t take it for granted, but I wonder how many others who live here do just take it for granted. I know my kids use too…. till they moved away. Now Daniel can’t imagine living anywhere else, and Kim loves to bring her friends home to show it off. Funny how they both complained about living here back when they lived at home LOL. They finally are feeling extrememely grateful for where they grew up.

    debi

  2. Gab permalink
    April 19, 2010 4:56 am

    Your view sounds gorgeous. And what a great feeling knowing you are home

Leave a Reply

