Skip to content

Napa Valley

April 26, 2010

In February of 2005, I lost a baby. It was really hard on me. The baby was 17 weeks when I went in for an amnio and discovered the heart had stopped beating. We found out later the baby was a girl and had down syndrome.

I needed to get away and be distracted and my husband took me to Napa Valley, our favorite place to relax. If you are local or a frequent visitor, you know there is an inexpensive motel near downtown St. Helena on the main highway with a pool. They happened to have a last minute opening. For some reason we have this one photo of the motel backyard from our weekend away. It wasn’t a fun time, it was a somber one and much needed. Being in surrounded by vineyards and gorgeous scenery is exactly what I needed to start the healing process. I am grateful to live so close to a place that has such special meaning.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Gab permalink
    May 2, 2010 12:36 am

    Oh Lori, I’m so sorry for your loss. I’m glad you were able to get away and start the healing process at such a nice place

Leave a Reply

