Skip to content

A New Routine

June 10, 2010

My oldest just graduated from Kindergarten. It’s bittersweet. I’m so proud of him, but feel like he’s growing up too fast. This is the time of year where we switch from the school routine to the summer routine. It usually takes us a few weeks to get into the groove of things and to get past the “I’m bored” that inevitably creeps in. This summer we have a lot planned to in an attempt to prevent any boredom.

Both boys really want to cook, so we’re going to spend one morning a week baking or cooking. Both boys will be taking swimming lessons a few times a week. We will have crafts time. We will have tons of outdoor time. We even have the Summer Bridge Activities book to look forward to. And, just in case, my own arsenal exhausts too quickly, I have found some fun resources to help. I thought I’d share them in case you are on the hunt for ideas for your own summer.

Great Craft Ideas

Great Routine Ideas

Great Routine Tips

While we have established some activities we plan to do and when we plan to do them, we are still leaving our summer a little open, so we can be impulsive now and then. We don’t get the chance to do that during the school year and it is one of the joys of summer. And while I’m a bit sadden by the fact that my son is growing up so quickly, I plan to do everything I can to enjoy this time with him, to try to be present at every stage of his life instead of looking back or forward. So, here’s to a fabulous summer of routine and impulse!

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 10, 2010 3:47 pm

    All of that is so true. The growing up fast, the need to “schedule” down time. I am resisting so much, including new job possibilities so that I can have the two summer months, or at least the bulk of that time with my seven-year old. It’s time we never recuperate, we need to use it wisely.

Leave a Reply

