Skip to content

Housekeeping Routine

June 17, 2010

I don’t have one. I have a chore list that I use when it’s convenient. I have subscribed to various yahoogroup-type lists that send me emails on what to do every day, but didn’t like getting emails telling me what to do every day. I would easily say the house is not my first priority.

Sometimes I wish I had that clean gene that others have. The very moment sand hits the floor when the boys take off shoes, I would be out there with a broom cleaning it up and reminding them to take their shoes off outside, etc… But, that’s just not me. The sand eventually gets cleaned up, but it’s not a hop-to thing. I want housecleaning to become a routine and a habit, but I don’t want it to take over my life to the point I’m stressed about it. I want to find that balance where I’m not stressed about not having clean house and I’m not stressed about cleaning my house all the time.

So, out of curiosity, where are all of you with housecleaning? Do you follow a routine? Can you recommend one? I would love to know what others do and how they feel about it.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Susan permalink
    June 17, 2010 12:23 am

    I’m an artist and a dreamer, therefore housecleaning doesn’t matter to me either. My yard is probably cleaner than each room in my home….more orderly, managed etc. I call it my spirit garden, because other than my studio, that is where my spirit spends most of it’s time. My routine is, whenever the house needs attention I will do a little each day. I’m in the de-cluttering mode so have placed containers in most rooms to place excess items into. The charities love my calls and it’s great getting down to “pretty” not cluttered. Very freeing to the spirit.

  2. Lisa permalink
    June 17, 2010 1:31 am

    Great post Lori.
    I grew up in a home with a mother who was SCARY clean. You didn’t dare walk inside with your shoes on, leave the house without making your bed or eat anywhere other than at the table. I’m nothing like this. I never make my bed now (and haven’t for 14 years) and neither do my kids. We eat where ever we want and I don’t care if you have your shoes on or off period. You could wear them to bed for all I care. I’m much more relaxed about housework than my mother ever could be. She still spends all weekend doing housework. I have better things to do with my life. My policy is simple: I clean it when I just can’t cope with it any longer. You’d be surprised how long I can cope with something (eg. months for the dusting but boys toilet & bathroom need cleaning every week but my not my bathroom as much – I’m not as dirty as they are or can be).

  3. Lisa permalink
    June 17, 2010 2:16 am

    opps I forgot to add something.
    Although my house isn’t perfectly clean it is very tidy. We do a 6 minute tidy up every night except Friday and Saturday. I read somewhere about this daily tidy up that involves everyone in the home. You do 1.5 minutes per person. We have 4 people living here so that’s 6 minutes for us (2 adults & 2 kids). I set the timer on my mobile (some say cell phone) at 6 minutes and we go. We all start in the living area, when that’s tidy the kids go do their rooms. If anyone complains or whines that adds 1 minute every time for that night and the next one too. The kids soon learn not to complain. We’ve been doing this since January 2009 and the only time I don’t do it is on school holidays. It’s easy to fit 6 minutes into your nightly family routine. We do it after the kids shower time. To be totally honest here I have snuck a few 7 minute nights in and no one knew any differently (hubby included).

  4. June 17, 2010 10:12 am

    Flylady!

    She teaches you how to s-l-o-w-l-y build those routines.

    My life has changed in a sweet and gentle way since I’ve her for my mentor. Seriously. Try it. And G-O S-L-O-W-L-Y !!!

    http://www.flylady.net

  5. Cindy permalink
    June 17, 2010 3:39 pm

    I do have routines. They save me time, which is the most precious commoditiy on earth. They save the frustration of not being able to find things, and the time that wastes.
    The routines are loose, and comfortable. I make my bed when I get up-because my room is small and feels lovely when the bed is made, and anything but when it remains unmade.

    I feel free when the house is tidy, so spending 15 minutes or so after breakfast, and another 15-20 minutes after dinner means the place is welcoming, and fosters creativity and the freedom to create.

    When my studio is tidy, I feel invited to come in and “make.” When it is crowded with un-put-away past project material, I feel stifled. It too is a small room so clutter is magnified. When I am surrounded by my lovely inspriation things, in an atmosphere of serentity, my brain and I can connect.

    So, my routines are simple:
    AM –
    get up early enough to get things done before I have to leave for work.
    Make the bed
    Water the garden and tend to the compost pile – or pull weeds
    Exercise: walk, bike, or do a video
    shower and breakfast
    tidy up and get a load of laundry started if needed
    go to work

    PM –
    On way home from work, run an errand or two
    Stop at farmers market for fruit or veg
    Start dinner, connect with hubby
    hang up laundry or put in dryer
    eat, clean up dinner
    clean up something, run vacuum or dust – 15 -20 min total
    Work on garden and enjoy the outdoors.
    Read, write, paint, brainstorm or work on current one of my current projects
    Put away stuff, change clothes and check laundry- fold up and put away
    Self care: lotioning, flossing, stretching or some yoga
    Figure out what to wear to work tomorrow, find it and make sure it is clean – or pick something else!
    Put self to bed.

    Many times, while I am waiting for something to finish, I will do a quick clean up. If I am in the kitchen, I will wipe down a counter or two, or clean a cupboard door, or wipe up some spots on the floor. While brushing my teeth I wipe off the mirror, or put away things hubby leaves on the counter.
    If the counter in the bathroom is dirty, I wipe it up quickly. Since I am doing this when I notice the need, and doing just a couple of minutes at a time, it never turns into a huge job. I also do tidying and quick cleaning while talking on the phone.

    I think the key to it all is that we have eliminated so much stuff. I now only have the things around me that serve a purpose, or that I love very much. I have created an environment where it is easy to put things away, so they DO get put away.

    Theroutine I follow is monday thru Friday. Saturday and Sunday are up for grabs: family, projects, friends. Rarely, we just cocoon. But the little bit of routine I invest during the week means my life is pretty serene, certainly the stress of being surrounded by energy and creativity sapping clutter is gone- and the things I see are the beautiful things that nourish my mind and spirit.

    I have found that I am much more productive in my creative pursuits when I am faithful to my little routines, and my commitment to keeping things orderly. When I get sloppy with them, it is a clue to me that I am frustrated with my current project, of having trouble getting it started or can’t quite figure out how to finish. So clutter is a signal to me that I need to spend some time thinking and brainstorming. How I keep my environment really is a picture into my mind.

    I would say my top three are:
    bed made
    kitchen counters clear
    laundry kept up and PUT AWAY!

    Getting that has given me a lot of freedom and I love it.

  6. lorigentile permalink*
    June 18, 2010 2:21 pm

    Wow, girls! Thank you so much for all your wonderful feedback!

Leave a Reply

