Skip to content

My Older Son

July 23, 2010

Journaling Reads:
Before David was born, I spent a lot of time worrying about happiness. I’ve never been the happiest person and I wanted to make sure this wasn’t going to affect my son. I didn’t want him to think that he has any reason to think he caused it. So I wrote signs in my house, read books, and did everything I could to work on being a happier person.

It turns out I had nothing to worry about.

The moment he was born, literally, there was a shift in me. I became a happier person in my core. Not happier. Happy. He turned me from a sad person to a happy person just by being born, could there be a more magnificent present?

As if that weren’t enough, David happens to be the best kid I could have wished for. He’s kind, loving, generous, self-sufficient, and gentle. He’s funny. He has the best imagination and he kisses his brother multiple times a day. He helps me with everything from cleaning up to changing his brother. I would like to take credit for the amazing person he is, but I know it’s just who he is and I thank my lucky stars every day.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

