Skip to content

Showing Gratitude

July 27, 2010

I apologize for posting late today. I usually do these posts the night before but, for the last two days, I’ve been consumed with a new project. This project focuses on my attempt to show gratitude to someone special in my life. Someone who’s made a difference and something for whom I really really am thankful. It’s a project that requires the efforts of others, too, so I’ve been doing the traffic-duty. The collecting and collating. It’s something that I don’t always love to do but my desire to do this project overpowers all else.

My challenge to you this week is to find ways to show gratitude. Find a way to demonstrate your thanks to someone in your life. It can be someone who’s been around a lot and has had a big impact, like your mom or dad. Or it can be the person at the checkout counter who smiled at you and brightened your day. Maybe you do a big gesture like buy someone a vacation or a small one like leave a little extra tip. Mow someone else’s lawn. Help unload groceries. Walk their dog. There are unlimited ways to show gratitude and make a difference in someone else’s life. The more unsuspecting the person, the better.

You can choose the person and the act, all I ask is that you do one thing to show gratitude. You can do more, of course, but just try to do at least one. It can even be towards yourself.

I bet you could use a nice bubble bath.

One Comment leave one →
  1. debi permalink
    July 27, 2010 6:33 pm

    Your posts are always so inspiring Karen. One of the things I do occassionly is I give a $5 tip to the person working the window at McDonald’s when I drive through for a Happy Meal. I know how HARD those people work for such little pay and it’s nice to see the shock and then smile as I leave. (They told me they’re not allowed to take tips, but the nice thing about a drive through, is you can drive away before they try to hand it back ) To me, it’s more than giving the $… I am quite sure that they appreciate the act of kindness.

    I can only imagine what you have up your sleeve!

    Thanks for your inspiration as always…

    debi

Leave a Reply

