Skip to content

Photography

August 13, 2010

Journaling Reads:
I have taken photos for as long as I can remember. In high school, I was the editor of the school yearbook. My closets were always overflowing with pictures.

But I didn’t really get into photography until I decided I really wanted a digital SLR. The camera cost a lot of money and I couldn’t justify owning one unless I learned some true photography skills first.

My husband had taken photography classes in high school and still had his 35mm, so we grabbed his camera and drove to Venice Beach where he taught me about aperture and shutter speed and so much more of the basics of photography.

That was the beginning of a true love. I have since started my own photography company, bought two other SLRs, and four amazing lenses. I take pictures every single day. Hundreds in a week and over 50,000 photos of just my family every year.

Photography has changed the way I view the world. The way I live. I know people say it stops you from living the moment, but for me it’s the exact opposite. It enhances my memories.

Over the course of my life, I’ve been to many amazing museums and have been fortunate enough to see great pieces of art. One of the best I’ve been to is The Frick Collection in New York City.

The reason I love this place so much is because it has a truly one-of-a-kind collection of art that is displayed in a beautiful house. What makes this place even more phenomenal is the stunning outdoor area. It’s so very green and peaceful.

When we lived in New York, this was one of my favorite places to go where I could slowly walk around and study each beautiful piece of art and then take my book and sit in the garden.

Now that I have two very young kids and work full time and live considerably far away from amazing museums, I appreciate my days at the Frick even more. I am so thankful that there are people like him who appreciated art so much and chose to spend some of his fortune towards building a collection and then created a place for all of us to come and appreciate it whenever we wanted.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

