Skip to content

On Romance

September 2, 2010

My husband is not a typical romantic type of guy. He doesn’t do flowers and candy or big date nights. There are no songs or poems bearing my name. And, yet, he is very romantic in the very small ways that truly matter.

The most romantic thing of all for me is to know I’m being listened to and thought of. It’s knowing I can count on him when I don’t even ask for help because he’s so in tuned to my needs. It’s me seeing a commercial for a new kind of candy and saying “Yummy” and a week later having it brought home.  I was on his mind and he listened and it made me feel grand! It’s looking into his eyes and seeing the respect, patience and the love reflected back.

I know that romance is not easy to define. For me, it’s those small things and the way they make me feel. I’m grateful for the ability to notice and appreciate them.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

