Skip to content

Down Time

September 9, 2010

Staying at home often times has the appearance of freedom. I don’t have to be a job at any particular time. I have no political pressure and no deadlines. From the outside, I can certainly see why others may feel the stay at home Mom has it good. From the inside, however, I can tell you that it’s just not true. I may not have millions of dollars balancing on my performance, but I do have children depending on it. I very rarely have time to myself. When I do, I am usually doing something for them, like volunteering in a classroom or taking them to activities, or for our home, like running errands. I don’t have the luxury of one hour off for lunch. I really appreciate it when I do have some time just for me. Time where no one is expecting anything from me. Time where I can sleep in or read a book or even catch up on tv shows. Since that happens infrequently, I have tried to carve out some down time each night. I have given myself time to read for an hour before falling asleep. I am truly grateful for this time because it helps me reset. My brain cannot think about other things when I’m reading. I can only fill my head with what is on the written page. That, right there, is the reason I am able to calm down from the day and ready myself for sleep and ultimately waking up for next day of stay at home Momhood.  While it’s a small thing to take an hour out of my evening, it ends up feels like a big thing. One that I look forward to each evening. One that I have come to need in order to be productive the next day. How do you give yourself down time?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Annette Kuusinen permalink
    September 9, 2010 3:41 pm

    Oh Lori! This is so true about being a stay-at-home. I’ve lost my down time in the last year. Not sure where it went, but after reading this, I am going to find it again.

  2. September 15, 2010 5:22 pm

    I too ache for a bit of downtime for myself – I didn’t realize how vital it is to my sanity. I love being a stay at home mum, but am working hard to find a bit more balance – I have started to run, which is my hour three times a week and so far it’s making a huge difference! I hope I can stay motivated and keep making myself a priority as well. So glad I found this blog- its a great way to keep life in perspective!

Leave a Reply

