Skip to content

A Little Something in the Mailbox

November 11, 2010

Two days ago, I found a DVD waiting for me in my mailbox from my Uncle. This DVD was made up of family movies he took from 1964-2001. As soon as I could, I popped in the DVD and watched. I saw my Mom and Dad at my age. I saw myself in every decade I’ve been here. I saw my Grandparents, my Aunt and family members I don’t know. I cried and laughed and cried again.

This video is so incredibly important to me. I heard the voices I grew up with. Voices I thought I’d never hear again. I treasure this video more than I can say. It has, also, inspired me to start gathering my family history and to get it recorded for my children because if I do not this video and all the family photos I have will be meaningless to them. I realize now that I have become my family’s librarian. So much of my family history has gone lost and forgotten. I have the opportunity to stop the leaching and I am so grateful to my Uncle for this gift.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 11, 2010 5:18 pm

    Thanks for writing this article. So many people lose the importance of family these days. I grew up in a very close family and my grandmother, who died, was our family librarian so I understand what you’re writing. It’s important to keep traditions alive. Thanks again for this article, it made me think of my childhood.

    • lorigentile permalink*
      November 12, 2010 7:27 am

      Thank you for your comment. I have always thought our family library closed when my Aunt passed away. It really took getting that dvd to realize that it’s not truly closed, just a bit harder to access.

Leave a Reply

