Skip to content

A Little Break

August 26, 2010

I’ve been quiet here for the last few weeks. I started to feel the gratitude I was posting was forced and not authentic. I didn’t like that. That wasn’t how I had intended to go about this process. And, it is a process. One that needs focus and attention. One that I had managed to put at the bottom of my priority list. So, I took a much needed break. I needed to step away and remember the reason I wanted to do this in the first place. I truly believe that when we focus on the positive in our lives, we reap more positive. It’s not always obvious and it’s not always instant, but it always happens. Practicing gratitude in my life once a week has not been working. Karen started this process promising to write down a list of things she’s grateful for each day. This week, I adopted this process for my own. Each night before I fall asleep, I have been writing my gratitude list in a journal. In my case, this has been necessary to keep gratitude in the fore front of my mind. It’s working, too.

I feel I owe all of you an apology for taking an unannounced break. I do apologize. I think it’s good to be able to step back and assess a thing when it doesn’t feel right, but I should have communicated my plan to take a break. I’m back now and I’m excited to continue this process. I feel renewed and ready to allow gratitude into my life.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Els Manning permalink
    August 26, 2010 12:45 pm

    totally agree… And i think it’s important to be doing it from the heart. We started to have my 9 yr.old before prayers, discuss for a sec. what we are grateful for today. Little reflection on things… and then it’s next who needs our special attention in our prayers …
    Small steps… but it’s a good one. I think reflecting on these things helps live a fuller life. And it makes us not take things for granted. Love your blog…and thanks for sharing!

  2. December 16, 2010 6:34 am

    Wonderful stuff from you, man. Ive read your stuff before and youre just too awesome. I really like what youve got here, enjoy what youre saying as well as the way you say it. You make it entertaining and you nonetheless manage to keep it smart. I cant wait to read additional from you. This is actually a great weblog.

Leave a comment